Posts

Taking a Few Steps Back...

Image
Every so often we come to a realization that something we've been doing hasn't been working as well as we'd hoped. Admitting you didn't do something right the first time is not a sign of weakness, it actually shows growth. Learning from your mistakes is just as important as getting things right the first time.  
Recently, during a book release party (for someone else) a mutual friend who is a librarian started talking to me about the Para-Earths series. She's watched trends and keeps a close eye on what's popular in the industry and she pointed out to me that the Para-Earths might actually do better aimed at a Young Adult (YA) audience. This would still make the books quite available to the adult crowd of course, while opening the series to more readers. 
I gave this a lot of thought, especially after several others readily agreed with her. So I spent the next week or doing some serious research into YA books. To my surprise, what I found there really made me …

How can I support authors I like, you ask?

Image
Well, maybe you don't ask. But now you want to know, because once you fall in love with a book, you want more like it.
Review it! Many online stores and book sites allow readers to post reviews. A person is more likely to take a chance on a book that 50 people say they loved than 5 people say they do.
Recommend it! Readers have friends who read, and you likely have an idea of their tastes. A recommendation makes a person more likely to find out more about an unknown book. Some authors, such as J.K. Rowling, got further by word of mouth recommendations and kids buying it for their friends, than by traditional marketing methods.
Gift it! I've been running a special-- the book retails at $12 each, but I've been running a 2 for $20 special via direct sales. It encourages people to either buy an extra as a present for a friend or talk them into buying one too and splitting the savings. And I'd never ask this, but two of my buyers spontaneously paid extra, so that someone w…

5-Star Reviews for "Forever's Too Long"...

Image
The first installment of "The Forever Detective" series is now available in Trade Paperback and E-Book formats

And the review are just starting to come in...
5.0 out of 5 stars  "Clever writing without being campy" "This genre mashup of 1940s detective/vampire novel must have been a challenge for Helen Krummenacker to write, but she pulled it off beautfully...."5.0 out of 5 stars"Fun Chandler-style with a twist" "Had so much fun reading this book..."You can read the rest of the reviews by clicking on the link below:https://www.amazon.com/dp/B07RSGKTDF

Zero Hour. The book is available.

Image
What a tense time. Will it sell? Will people review it? I know the book is good,  but making a splash when there are so many forms of entertainment out there isn't easy.

This is the part where the audience keeps the writer in suspense. But don't worry, I'm good at waiting: in fact, I'll start right now. 
On sale now at: Nook:https://www.barnesandnoble.com/w/forevers-too-long-helen-krummenacker/1131555250?ean=2940163217083 Amazon:  https://www.amazon.com/dp/B07RSGKTDF    AmazonUK: https://www.amazon.co.uk/dp/B07RSGKTDF   AmazonCA: https://www.amazon.ca/dp/B07RSGKTDF  AmazonAU: https://www.amazon.com.au/dp/B07RSGKTDF   Smashwords: https://www.smashwords.com/books/view/938589 Signed trade paperback copies are available upon request. Simply leave a comment in the section below, or e-mail me at: helenkrummenacker@gmail.com

Countdown to release:7 Days. Why Print-On-Demand?

Image
So, one of the first things I often hear from people when they hear I have a book coming out is, "Who's your publisher?"
There's long been a stigma to self-publishing, and until recently, it was deserved. A writer had to buy a few thousand copies to get it printed at reasonable rates and generally did so as a pet project. Anyone who wanted to reach a wide audience and to possibly make money had to find a publisher who thought their work was high enough quality to invest in. It would go through rounds of editing before ever going to the shops. A real publisher meant the writer had talent. Self-publishing just meant they had money.
But. That was then. This is now. Everyone knows there have been radical changes in how books are sold.There are many formats besides paper. Bookstore chains have collapsed or moved to online only. Publishing houses rise and fall, to the point where there are few one has heard of. But more has happened behind the scenes. Publishers tend not …

"Forever's Too Long" Book Trailer...

These days, books as well as movies are often advertised with trailers that use images and sound to give you an idea of the flavor of the book, as well as sharing information about genre, storyline, and availability.
Allan Krummenacker was a huge help with this, doing the actual production based on music and images I chose, and a few finds of his own, but I especially like his vocal work-- since the book is almost entirely first person narration, I decided to script the trailer that way, so he's giving the voice of Rafael Jones.
*And remember the book will be available on June 1st, but you can still Pre-Order an e-copy at the following links:
Nook:
https://www.barnesandnoble.com/w/forevers-too-long-helen-krummenacker/1131555250?ean=2940163217083

Amazon:
https://www.amazon.com/dp/B07RSGKTDF

AmazonUK:
https://www.amazon.co.uk/dp/B07RSGKTDF

AmazonCA:
https://www.amazon.ca/dp/B07RSGKTDF

AmazonAU:
https://www.amazon.com.au/dp/B07RSGKTDF

Smashwords:
https://www.smashwords.com/books/view/938589

Also …

Pre-Orders Available NOW...

Image
Welcome to the first solo novel of Helen Krummenacker, co-author of the Para-Earth Series. Adventure, humor, film noir and dark urban fantasy blend in a unique vision that will appeal to fans of Harry Dresden or Marvel's Horror Comics....Enter the world of The Forever Detective Series...

Raphael Jones' love of adventure took him into police work, military service, and finally a career as a private eye. But when his first couple of cases combine to drop him into deep trouble, can his sense of adventures survive? For that matter, can he? A practical man with a kind heart, he never expected to encounter supernatural evil threatening the people he cares about.
"I was reading along enjoying the Raymond Chandler vibe and suddenly WHAM! Night Stalker!" - author Danarra Ban

Available June 1st, 2019 for all e-books (Kindle, Nook, Kobo, Apple, PDF, etc.) and trade paperback!
Reserve your e-book now at:

Nook:
https://www.barnesandnoble.com/w/forevers-too-long-helen-krummenacker/1131…